In the context of traditional bhajans of Bhaktas, a raga (rāg) is a melody or tune in which a bhajan is sung. The traditional bhajans of Bhaktas are sung in a variety of rāgs which consists of rāgs for a particular season or occasion and also rāgs for a particular time of day. Also, certain rāgs are reserved for special occasions.

The rāgs associated with a particular time of day are as follows:

After Sunrise (6AM to 8AM)

8 AM – 10 AM
Nāni Āshāvari

10 AM – 12 Noon
Moti Āshāvari

12 Noon – Sunset

After Sunset (till Midnight)
Godi, Kānado, Kalyān, Kāfi, Kālero, Māru, Bihāg, Sorath, Sorath Deshi Fer

At Midnight

After Midnight
Panthido, Sāmeri, Pancham

Early Morning
Devgandhār Prabhāt, Prabhāt

For the evening bhajan sessions, there is a sequence of rāgs which are sung until midnight. These are known as bārmāsi rāgs which means rāgs for any month.

Now let’s look at the rāgs associated with a particular season or occasion.

Spring season (Vasant, Holi, Dhuleti)
Nirgun Vasant, Sagun Vasant, Vasant Dhanāshri, Rang Rasiyo, Rāyaso, Dhamār, Garbi

Malār, Hindolā-ni Sāmeri, Rishikesh Sāmeri, Malār Chhappe, Hindolā-ni Kāfi, Hindolā-no Kālero, Hindolā-nu Māru, Sajani, Bihāg Fer

Funeral Procession
Bilāval, Āshāvari or Sārang during the procession;  after cremation, Dhol-Mangal and then Charchari

Nāni Āshāvari, Moti Āshāvari, Sārang

Wedding Procession
Dhol, Mangal

The rāg vasant is associated with the spring season while rāg malār (or malhār) is associated with the rainy season. Rang rasiyo, rāyaso and garbi are sung on Dhuleti (the day after Holi). For Janmāshtami, there is a sequence of hindolā rāgs which leads to the rāg bihāg fer at midnight. For the kirtan sessions which are normally held during the day, the rāg is based on time of day. In the morning, the rāg will be āshāvari while in the afternoon, the rāg will be sārang.

Here we have given just a basic raga guide. Of course, there are many more other rāgs which are sung today.